D-Fest in Tulsa, OK

July 28, 2008 at 12:27 am 2 comments

This past Friday and Saturday was the annual Diversafest Music Festival + Conference, or D-Fest, in Tulsa. In its seventh year, D-Fest has managed to establish itself as a real up and coming player in the music festival game.

The experience was a good one. Although it was Africa-hot in T-town. I didn’t have a major itinerary set up for the show. There were only a handful of bands I recognized. But, that was a good thing. It meant it would force me to wander in and out of different bars and venues to check out new bands. And boy did it.

Here’s just a sampling of the bands I saw that I’d either heard of or was previously unaware.

The band Cavedoll are some of the nicest and coolest band members I’ve ever had the pleasure to meet and hang out with. Funny, smart and really cool. They were genuine when they said they really liked the people in Tulsa and felt very welcome here. They’re from Salt Lake City and are a electro/rock band that I would liken to a good mix of Depeche Mode, Shiny Toy Guns and the Smiths. So basically, my friends and I danced a lot during their show. Good times!

Cavedoll playing the Continental

I also caught one of my favorite Tulsa bands, Three Penny Upright at Tsunami. They did a terrific job as usual. Their bluegrass, Americana, old school country sound and talent are what keeps people coming back for more. Always a good show and always gets people dancing.

Three Penny Upright playing at Tsunami

Crocodile was another band who I had a lot of fun seeing at the Continental. Unfortunately, their set was delayed due to technical difficulties, but they did a great job in the time they had. Two people running 4 keyboards is pretty impressive no matter how many songs you get to play (or don’t have time to play).

Crocodile playing at the Continental

I finished out D-Fest with The Roots show. I thought the show was pretty amazing. I was pretty close, but it was so packed and hot (even though we were outside and it was almost 1am). That many bodies crowded together on a hot summer night is not good. I stayed through about 3/4’s of the show and then had to get out. It was just too much. Overall, a great show from a really cool band who are such a wonderful antithesis to modern day hip-hop culture.

The Roots on the Hadaly Stage at D-Fest

Sorry the pictures aren’t that great. I took them with my iPhone and there just aren’t many options to take a great picture on a phone. Oh well.

Of course I can’t forget about Tulsa’s own robot powered sensation, RECORDER. I helped wrangle RECORDER’s “entourage” of robots who dance among the crowd during shows. Their show at Exit 6C was completely packed and they hit capacity. It was quite the dance party and everyone really seemed into it, including myself. Their retro-futuristic costumes evoke “Metropolis” inspired, 1930s era science fiction. I don’t have a picture of their latest incarnation, but here is a picture of their former costumes which go with a more 1950s, boxy robot. This was taken on Friday night at D-Fest before we scoured the crowds to pass out fliers. Looks like our efforts worked!

Lynn-bot of RECORDER

Overall, I had a great time and a great weekend! Hopefully 2009 will be even better.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Packaging design. Currently listening… and viewing.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Knessa  |  July 30, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Thank you for your write up about Cavedoll my little old band. We really had fun in Tulsa and met the nicest people, you included. You Tulsans really made the endless, epic drive worth it. Thank you TULSA, y’all are cool!

    Reply
  • 2. jeffreysnodgrass  |  July 30, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Knessa!!! How did you find my blog? You savvy Googler, you! Anyway, once again, a pleasure to meet you guys! I had a BLAST! Please come back when you can. You’re always welcome in T-town!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



