“It’s distinguished”

August 6, 2008 at 4:59 am 4 comments

I used to hear that constantly from friends, family and acquaintances concerning my premature gray hair. It all started when I was about 19 or 20 years old. It was a small spot on my crown. I hated it. Then it spread. Now it’s everywhere on my head. And you know what? I’m fine with it. I guess it is distinguished. Deep down inside I kind of liked it when I was younger because it did sort of set me apart.

I’m gray. And I’m proud of it.

http://advocate.com/issue_story_ektid56862.asp

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Daaaaamn, Doogie! Stoner jamz

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sandy  |  August 7, 2008 at 2:41 am

    Have you ever read “The Philosophy of Andy Warhol”? He said that the reason he wore a gray wig was because people would think he was older than he really was, so when he would jump out of a cab, people would comment on how young and “spry” he was.

    Reply
  • 2. jeffreysnodgrass  |  August 7, 2008 at 3:43 am

    No, I haven’t read that. That’s funny and interesting. That Andy Warhol was a corker.

    Reply
  • 3. linda  |  August 7, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    Gray hair is like a blank slate, man. It’s time to dye that stuff red.

    Reply
  • 4. jeffreysnodgrass  |  August 7, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    I don’t think I can go Ginger. I already have a Ginger beard… I’m a friggin’ Calico.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



