DC / Aug 2008

August 19, 2008 at 5:12 am 9 comments

I arrived back in Tulsa at almost 11pm last night. The flights weren’t too bad coming home. It was pure heaven compared to my Chicago ordeal in June.

Enough about the airline though. This blog is about the actual time on the ground in Washington DC. Well, let me tell you, it was a great experience. I loved the city and the ease of which you can transport yourself to various areas of it. The Metrorail system is fantastic and very easy to navigate. Speaking of navigating, my friend Kate is really good at that and kudos to her for her directional prowess on the streets.

I arrived on Thu afternoon and hopped on the Metro which has a station there at Reagan National. I arrived at Union Station and was surprised at how close my hotel was to it. It was basically one block or less.

The 1920s style and feel are still prevalent in this hotel. Although it’s been restored, you can’t help but feel like you’ve stepped back in time… until you see the sweet LG HD flat screen TV mounted on the wall of your room and you start watching the Olympics on it.

I had a single room, but once I discovered the bed was relatively small, I thought there might be an issue when Sandy and Kate arrived on Friday. We toughed through Friday night and then on Saturday morning I asked for a roll-away bed which they said wouldn’t fit into the room. However, our wonderful host at the hotel helped us out and put us in a double room. Sandy was quite relieved after having to spend the night sandwiched between Kate and I. Actually, we were all three relieved.

On Thu evening, I just did some sightseeing on my own. I walked down to the Capitol and then to the Conservatory to take some pictures. The Conservatory had a cool exhibit up promoting sustainability. It consisted of large globes that various artists had decorated. I took pictures of some of my favorite ones.

The next day I hit the Library of Congress and took a guided tour. I typically don’t do guided tours, but this one was very informative and I learned quite a bit. I remember as a kid, thinking of how cool it would be to one day visit the LoC. Well, now I can say I have.

Did you know that the Library receives, on average, 20,000 items per day? The have various depositories in Maryland and other places to house their archives. The library itself has long since been filled.

Later that day, I met up with Sandy and Kate who had taken a bus down from New York City. We took off down the National Mall after lunch at Capitol City Brewery, a great micro-brewery near Union Station.

We walked and walked and walked some more. However, we got to see the really cool Jim Henson exhibit at the Smithsonian. It was really awesome. Sorry, no pictures were allowed. The exhibit consisted of actual Muppets, old concept drawings, old commercial storyboards from the early days when Henson was producing DC-based advertising for various products. There were also costumes and character marquettes from The Dark Crystal.

We then made our way towards the Washington Monument, the Lincoln Memorial, Tidal Basin and Jefferson Memorial. It’s been a long time since I walked that far on one day. My feet were killing me. The DC humidity wasn’t kind either.

Other highlights included hitting the National Air & Space Museum (AWESOME!!!). I’d been wanting to visit it since I was a kid. Finally!

Georgetown! Fantastic! Fun places to eat, shop and just peruse. Plus, I had some damn good cupcakes at Georgetown Cupcakes. Thanks for your persistence in getting us to the cupcake place, Kate! 🙂 Plus, it was definitely fun to check out the creepy steps where they shot the “Exorcist”. It would SUCK to fall down those.

Sunday brunch at Perry’s. Wow! Absolutely hilarious. It’s a delicious buffet brunch with free-flowing mimosas and a crazy drag show. I’ve never been into drag shows, but this was pretty impressive and lots of fun. Definitely worth the wait in line and the Metro ride and relatively short walk. Oh, and when we were leaving Perry’s, I effing fell down as I walked out of the front door. Yep, I fell down. All I could do is laugh. I just took a bad step and fell. It looked like I had too many mimosas, I’m sure. It really was quite hilarious and it happened in front of about a dozen people. Nice one, Jeff.

Overall, we had a great time. There’s just too much to do in DC and I’ll have to go back someday. We’re going to plan a reunion trip for next year.

Entry filed under: Weekend trips. Tags: , , .

Music I’m digging right at this moment. Phelps hearts McDonald’s?

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. notlibby  |  August 19, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    way to go, drunkie. i heart that yellow bedroom…you can pee everywhere and no one would ever know! (just what i need)

    Reply
  • 2. jeffreysnodgrass  |  August 19, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    I wish I had been a little drunk when I fell. At least it would have made more sense. I only had two mimosas with brunch. Unfortunately, I just took a wrong step and BOOM! Glad I didn’t do that on the Exorcist steps. I would’ve ended up like the priest.

    Reply
  • 3. Nate  |  August 19, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Yea, the Air And Space Museum is excellent. Sort of sensory overload since it’s so small, though. I believe there is a new annex out at Reagan that is much larger, but I have never been to that one.

    Oh, and that Capital City Brewery is great too.

    Wish I could have been there, dude. Glad you had fun.

    Reply
  • 4. Donita  |  August 19, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    I totally love the DC. One of the best towns in the USofA! And how hard does the National Mall rock? Hard.

    Reply
  • 5. jeffreysnodgrass  |  August 19, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Donita –

    The N Mall do rock hard, but I wish they would spruce it up a bit. It’s lookin’ shabby in some parts mainly around the Reflecting Pool. Duck poo is everywhere and the water is disgusting!

    Reply
  • 6. jessepedersen  |  August 20, 2008 at 2:54 am

    You fell, eh? I seem to remember SOMEONE recently laughing about a time I fell on a dance floor. Karma? I’m glad you had so much fun. I’m hoping to get out there within the next year!

    Reply
  • 7. Sandy  |  August 20, 2008 at 3:46 am

    Ahhh, good times!

    Reply
  • 8. Joey  |  August 20, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Sounds like a good trip! Good job on the falling…and since we’re doing trip-and-fall stories, I did something similar to that a few months ago. Went to happy hour with coworkers, but had A drink – definitely not drunk. I left the bar, didn’t realize there was a small step down, and tripped. But not only did I trip and fall, I landed on someone. THEN I looked up – and saw it was a cop! Ah, yeah, good times.

    Okay, you’ve been to DC…now come back to NYC again soon, okay? 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Kate  |  August 21, 2008 at 5:50 am

    thanks for the shout-out. You can call me Kate Magellan from now on.

    p.s. I almost had forgotten about “the fall” now I am enjoying a giggle as I think about it. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



