Michelle Obama / DNC (in case you missed it)

August 26, 2008 at 4:00 pm 3 comments

Normally, I am not “moved” per se by political speeches. I guess it’s just from growing up in an increasingly cynical age during the 80s and 90s. There just hasn’t been anyone to come along (IMHO) who has really made me think that they might (and I stress “might”) actually be able to do something positive in our country and our world. I’m not living in a dream world where I think Obama is the second coming or anything. I just feel a real sense of motivation and drive to change things and get things done. I may not totally agree with him on all of the issues, but I have never agreed with any candidate on all of the issues. I don’t think many people ever really do. 

I always admired John McCain and what he’s done for our country, but this time around, well, he just feels tired. I hate to say that. I don’t get fired up listening to him. He doesn’t say much that’s different from what we’ve been hearing the last 8 years. 

So, I settled in and watched Michelle Obama’s headlining speech at the Democratic National Convention last night. Wow! What a speech. I know. I know. It’s just a speech. They’re just words delivered eloquently and with just enough power that it makes you want to believe in this candidate. Well, I do believe. I’m not necessarily “hook, line and sinker”, but I believe that something special is at hand here. 

Below is a link to the speech in two parts. I haven’t re-watched it, so I hope the You Tube videos are in good shape. Anyway, in case you missed it or would like to see it again, it’s an excellent speech. Now, I’m looking forward to the big one on Thursday night. 

Part 1

Part 2

Entry filed under: Politics. Tags: , , , .

French Horn Rebellion Thank you, dear readers.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. linda  |  August 26, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    I watched her speech too and found myself teary-eyed for some crazy reason. I’m like you–my little PR-based heart is cynical and I can sniff out fluff and canned “things we out to say” a mile away. However, there is something genuine about her, and regardless, she loves her family and her man, and believes in him 500%. That’s so rare these days. I’ll fist bump to that.

    Reply
  • 2. jessepedersen  |  August 26, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Plus, she looked just fabulous.

    Reply
  • 3. Joey  |  August 26, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Okay, I am the odd one out here. I love Michelle Obama. And her style 😉 But I thought that last night’s speech seemed way to rehearsed, and that she wasn’t “herself”…and that dress was awful! Like they were trying to “soften” her or something. (I’ll stop using “quotations” now).

    I can’t wait for Thursday, either. Think what you want about Obama, but his speech at the 2004 Convention was fantastic…I’m curious to see if he can outdo himself!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



