Knight too dark in Japan.

September 2, 2008 at 4:10 am 3 comments

When reading the explanation as to why The Dark Knight is flopping in Japan, I was surprised. Besides it currently competing with a major hit anime film there, the reasoning is very strange to me. Then again, I don’t study Japanese pop-culture very closely, So what do I know?. Just thought this was interesting.

Via Dark Horizons

Entry filed under: comics, movies/film. Tags: , .

Oh Joel… MessNBC

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sandy  |  September 2, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Yeah, some movies just don’t translate overseas. I know this is a completely different type of film but “Forest Gump” did really well in the states and did horribly overseas. I remember reading that it supposedly had to do with all the American pop culture references in the movie. I’ve actually never see “Forest Gump” or had any desire to. Perhaps because I was in Japan the summer it came out?

    Reply
  • 2. jeffreysnodgrass  |  September 2, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Ya know, I probably saw FG several times and it’s a very well made and effecting film. I think overexposure made it kind of “uncool” in the long run. I caught part of it on TV the other day. I hadn’t seen it in years. Sure, it’s corny, but it’s still a film that gets me a little watery eyed and Tom Hanks is really good in it. Actually, everyone who is in it is really good. It was pretty much Gary Sinise’s break-out movie. The director (Robert Zemekis) hasn’t made a decent film since. At least not in my opinion. “Beowulf” was good, but on a completely different level.

    It’s also interesting how some films do horribly here and then excel overseas. “Donnie Darko” comes to mind. It bombed here and was released with a whimper independently. Then it took on a major cult following in the US and did pretty well on DVD. All the while, it was successful in the UK.

    Reply
  • 3. Joey  |  September 2, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Forrest Gump gets me everytime…and I think I’m the only person I know that didn’t like Donnie Darko.

    Those two facts together make me an uber-nerd, I think. And not in a cool way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



