Nike / Courage

September 5, 2008 at 7:06 pm 4 comments

Of all the spots I saw during the Olympics coverage a few weeks ago, this one definitely stood out. The ad is an exercise in great editing of memorable footage and arresting images paired with a wonderful song (All These Things That I Have Done by The Killers) that never fails to get my blood pumping or my feet running.

Agency is Wieden+Kennedy 

Entry filed under: Advertising, randoms, Sports. Tags: , , .

I heart Spock. Dr. Horrible.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. adayinthelyfe  |  September 5, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    This ad makes me wish I was a runner…

    Reply
  • 2. jeffreysnodgrass  |  September 5, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    I was being really good about running regularly this summer and since I got back from DC, I have been a lazy bastard. But, when I see this commercial, there are three clips that make me re-think my silly laziness. The first is a cancer-stricken Lance Armstrong lying in bed and then immediately we get a clip of him pushing himself during what I’m guessing is one of his many Tour de France wins. Then the final clip of the man who no longer has his natural legs, but is sprinting on artificial ones. I have zero excuses not to be more active.

    Reply
  • 3. adayinthelyfe  |  September 5, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    The guy running with no legs always gets me! Though I’m amazed at people who try to say that gives him an advantage at running – probably the same ones who say that Armstrong’s cancer meds gave him an advantage in his racing. Seriously? People can be so ridiculous.

    Reply
  • 4. jeffreysnodgrass  |  September 5, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    I totally agree. Every time we email/Facebook/blog comment, I am reminded why we’re friends.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



