Prop watch! Vol. 1

September 8, 2008 at 3:49 pm 2 comments

 

Fond memories abound.

Fond memories abound.

Being an avid fan of AMC’s Mad Men, I tend to not only watch the show for the great writing, acting, character development and cinematography, but for the amazing attention to detail and stellar art direction. So, last night’s episode titled “The Gold Violin” had a vintage prop that was used entirely as set dressing, but once I saw it, I immediately and excitedly commented to my friends, “Oh my gosh! My aunt had that same cookie jar when I was a kid and I loved it!” Aside from that sounding “gay” in an Antiques Road Show kind of way, I really did dig that cookie jar when I was a kid. It was cool and fun and more enticing than any other cookie jar I’d ever seen. I challenge any kid to try to keep their grubby paws out of it. 

Yeah, that’s a little weird to get excited over a cookie jar, but seeing the retro-cool porcelain container brought back a flood of memories. The jar has raised, three-dimensional cookie formations all over it. I remember my brother and sister and I used to marvel at how cool we thought this was. Of course, we were ultimately concerned with what was inside the jar. Was it Little Debbie Oatmeal Cream Pies, Nutty Bars, Oreos? 

Anyway, I noticed it on the top of the refrigerator in Sal and Kitty’s 1960s NYC apartment on last night’s episode. It just had a few seconds of screen time, but it was the star of those few seconds in my eyes. 

On a completely unrelated note, I tried to watch Alan Ball’s new HBO series, True Blood and couldn’t even get through the first half of the first episode. The acting was pretty awful and the writing just tried too hard to be somewhat satirical, yet not satirical. I don’t know. It’s just too uneven for me and the characters just weren’t likable.

Entry filed under: randoms, TV series. Tags: , .

Music videos that currently catch my attn. “Fringe” benefits.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Misty  |  September 8, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    I noticed this cookie jar too. I was intrigued by that cool lighter that Sal has now adopted. I need to find one for JB!

    Reply
  • 2. Sandy  |  September 8, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    Damn, now I want some cookies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



