If you’re not listening to Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings, you are missing out.

May 26, 2010 at 2:27 pm Leave a comment

I know I’m a little late on the bandwagon here, but I don’t care. I started hearing this music over the past year or so, but never got around to really seeking it out. Then I saw Sharon Jones on Saturday Night Live. She was singing with Michael Bublé (a singer I’m not particularly interested in) and I found myself wanting to know more about Ms. Jones immediately. Then, I rented the movie Up In The Air and noticed the song used in the opening credits was Jones’ fantastic soul cover of Woody Guthrie’s “This Land Is Your Land”.  So, now I am definitely a fan. I only have a couple of albums so far and they are GREAT! If you’re a fan of classic sounding soul/R&B, then you need to get your hands on this. Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings are on Daptone Records. Here’s a sample…

And here is Up In The Air‘s opening sequence

Entry filed under: music, ridiculously cool. Tags: , , , , .

4 8 15 16 23 42…Execute. Summertime: A Top 10 List

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



